Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Salt to the sea : a novel / Ruta Sepetys.

Sepetys, Ruta, (author.).

Available copies

  • 61 of 67 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 0 of 0 copies available at Sprague Public Library - Baltic.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date

Record details

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 384-389).
Summary, etc.:
"As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"-- Provided by publisher.
World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. -- Provided by publisher.
Study Program Information Note:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 4.5 10.0 179545.
Accelerated Reader 4.5.
Accelerated Reader AR 4.5 10.0 179545.
Awards Note:
Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2019.
YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2017
CILIP Carnegie Medal Winner, 2017.
Subject: Wilhelm Gustloff (Ship) > Juvenile fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Juvenile fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Fiction.
Shipwreck survival > Juvenile fiction.
Survival at sea > Juvenile fiction.
Refugees > Fiction.
Genre: Young adult fiction.
Historical fiction, Young adult.
Historical fiction.

Additional Resources