Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Salt to the sea : a novel / Ruta Sepetys.

Sepetys, Ruta, (author.).

Available copies

  • 58 of 64 copies available at Bibliomation.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Ansonia Public Library YA SEPETYS, RUTA (Text to phone) 34045126332456 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Babcock Library - Ashford YA Sep (Text to phone) 3311000083570V Young Adult Fiction Available -
Beacon Falls Public Library YA FIC SEP (Text to phone) 33120000375755 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Bentley Memorial Library - Bolton YA FIC Sep (Text to phone) 33160132469498 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Bethel Public Library TEEN F SEPETYS (Text to phone) 34030133677424 Teen Fiction Checked out 06/06/2019
Bolton High School FIC SEP (Text to phone) 34062127330520 Fiction Available -
Brookfield Library TEEN F/SEPETYS (Text to phone) 34029134278885 Teen Fiction Available -
C.H. Booth Library - Newtown YA FIC SEPETYS (Text to phone) 34014136912236 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Chester Public Library YA SEP (Text to phone) 33210000362067 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Deep River Public Library YA F Sepe (Text to phone) 36039001158977 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Next 10 »

Record details

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 384-389).
Summary, etc.:
"As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"-- Provided by publisher.
World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. -- Provided by publisher.
Study Program Information Note:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 4.5 10.0 179545.
Accelerated Reader 4.5.
Accelerated Reader AR 4.5 10.0 179545.
Awards Note:
Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2019.
YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2017
CILIP Carnegie Medal Winner, 2017.
Subject: Wilhelm Gustloff (Ship) > Juvenile fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Juvenile fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Fiction.
Shipwreck survival > Juvenile fiction.
Survival at sea > Juvenile fiction.
Refugees > Fiction.
Genre: Young adult fiction.
Historical fiction, Young adult.
Historical fiction.

Additional Resources