Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Record details

Content descriptions

Participant or Performer Note:
Read by Cassandra Morris, Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron and Michael Crouch.
Summary, etc.:
For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies. In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 NYT bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.
Awards Note:
Inky Awards longlist, 2017
Source of Description Note:
Online resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed February 15, 2016).
Subject: World War, 1939-1945 > Fiction.
Refugees > Fiction.
Wilhelm Gustloff (Ship) > Fiction.
Shipwreck survival > Fiction.
Young Adult Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Young Adult Literature.
Genre: Young adult fiction.
Downloadable audio books.
Historical fiction.
Audiobooks.
LDR 07026cim a2200721Ki 4500
001ocn936695681
00520170807083540.8
006m o h
007sz zunnnnnuneu
007cr nnannnunuuu
008160205s2016 nyunnnndo f n eng d
040 . ‡aTEFOD ‡beng ‡erda ‡epn ‡cTEFOD ‡dOCLCO ‡dTEFOD ‡dOCLCO ‡dMMI ‡dAURUY ‡dN$T ‡dMMI ‡dAL5CW ‡dX#7 ‡dIHT ‡dHQD ‡dMMI
020 . ‡a9780147525444 ‡q(electronic audio bk.)
020 . ‡a0147525446 ‡q(electronic audio bk.)
020 . ‡a9780147525468 ‡q(electronic audio bk.)
020 . ‡a0147525462 ‡q(electronic audio bk.)
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)936695681
037 . ‡aFC9FB368-E3A8-4BBF-AFC2-F0B4A9B56B4E ‡bOverDrive, Inc. ‡nhttp://www.overdrive.com
050 4. ‡aPZ7.S47957 ‡bSal 2016ab
072 7. ‡aJUV ‡x016000 ‡2bisacsh
082 . ‡a[Fic]
084 . ‡aYAF001020 ‡aYAF024050 ‡aYAF024100 ‡2bisacsh
049 . ‡aGPTA
1001 . ‡aSepetys, Ruta, ‡eauthor.
24510. ‡aSalt to the sea : ‡ba novel / ‡cRuta Sepetys.
250 . ‡aUnabridged.
264 1. ‡a[New York] : ‡bListening Library (Audio), ‡c2016.
300 . ‡a1 online resource (1 sound file (08 hr., 48 min., 09 sec.)) : ‡bdigital
306 . ‡a084809
336 . ‡aspoken word ‡bspw ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡acomputer ‡bc ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡aonline resource ‡bcr ‡2rdacarrier
347 . ‡aaudio file ‡2rda
5880 . ‡aOnline resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed February 15, 2016).
5110 . ‡aRead by Cassandra Morris, Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron and Michael Crouch.
520 . ‡aFor readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies. In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 NYT bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.
586 . ‡aInky Awards longlist, 2017
650 0. ‡aWorld War, 1939-1945 ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aRefugees ‡vFiction.
65020. ‡aWilhelm Gustloff (Ship) ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aShipwreck survival ‡vFiction.
65017. ‡aYoung Adult Fiction. ‡2overdrive
650 7. ‡aHistorical Fiction. ‡2overdrive
650 7. ‡aYoung Adult Literature. ‡2overdrive
655 0. ‡aYoung adult fiction.
655 4. ‡aDownloadable audio books.
655 7. ‡aHistorical fiction. ‡2lcgft
655 7. ‡aAudiobooks. ‡2lcgft
7001 . ‡aMorris, Cassandra, ‡d1982- ‡enarrator.
7001 . ‡aMarie, Jorjeana, ‡enarrator.
7001 . ‡aDamron, Will, ‡enarrator.
7001 . ‡aCrouch, Michael ‡q(Michael Lockwood), ‡enarrator.
8564 . ‡3Image ‡uhttp://images.contentreserve.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{FC9FB368-E3A8-4BBF-AFC2-F0B4A9B56B4E}Img100.jpg ‡yAvailable Online from Overdrive. Click here to download. ‡9ANSONA ‡9SPRAGUE ‡9BFALLS ‡9BETHEL ‡9BOLTON ‡9BRKFLD ‡9CHESTER ‡9COVENTRY ‡9DERBY ‡9DBNECK ‡9DMHUNT ‡9EHAVEN ‡9EASTON ‡9ELNGTN ‡9WSHGTN ‡9HEBRON ‡9JCCL ‡9JTRUMBULL ‡9KLWRTH ‡9KLNGLY ‡9MILFORD ‡9RXBURY ‡9MONROE ‡9MORRIS ‡9NAUGTK ‡9NCANAAN ‡9NEWTWN ‡9NORFLK ‡9LITFLD ‡9OXFORD ‡9PUTNAM ‡9RDGFLD ‡9REDDNG ‡9ROCKVL ‡9ROWLIB ‡9SALEM ‡9SLSBRY ‡9SEYMOR ‡9SHLSYS ‡9SHLTON ‡9HUNTNG ‡9SLATER ‡9SRMAN ‡9SOMERS ‡9SBURY ‡9SFFRD ‡9SUFFLD ‡9TERYVL ‡9TLLAND ‡9TOMPSN ‡9UNION ‡9WARREN ‡9WDBURY ‡9WESTON ‡9WTRBRY ‡9BUHILL ‡9WLMNTC ‡9WOLCOT ‡9WINDFREE ‡xcons
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttp://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=fc9fb368-e3a8-4bbf-afc2-f0b4a9b56b4e&.epub-sample.overdrive.com ‡yAvailable Online from Overdrive. Click here to download. ‡9ANSONA ‡9SPRAGUE ‡9BFALLS ‡9BETHEL ‡9BOLTON ‡9BRKFLD ‡9CHESTER ‡9COVENTRY ‡9DERBY ‡9DBNECK ‡9DMHUNT ‡9EHAVEN ‡9EASTON ‡9ELNGTN ‡9WSHGTN ‡9HEBRON ‡9JCCL ‡9JTRUMBULL ‡9KLWRTH ‡9KLNGLY ‡9MILFORD ‡9RXBURY ‡9MONROE ‡9MORRIS ‡9NAUGTK ‡9NCANAAN ‡9NEWTWN ‡9NORFLK ‡9LITFLD ‡9OXFORD ‡9PUTNAM ‡9RDGFLD ‡9REDDNG ‡9ROCKVL ‡9ROWLIB ‡9SALEM ‡9SLSBRY ‡9SEYMOR ‡9SHLSYS ‡9SHLTON ‡9HUNTNG ‡9SLATER ‡9SRMAN ‡9SOMERS ‡9SBURY ‡9SFFRD ‡9SUFFLD ‡9TERYVL ‡9TLLAND ‡9TOMPSN ‡9UNION ‡9WARREN ‡9WDBURY ‡9WESTON ‡9WTRBRY ‡9BUHILL ‡9WLMNTC ‡9WOLCOT ‡9WINDFREE ‡xcons
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttp://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2205293-SaltToTheSea.mp3 ‡yAvailable Online from Overdrive. Click here to download. ‡9ANSONA ‡9SPRAGUE ‡9BFALLS ‡9BETHEL ‡9BOLTON ‡9BRKFLD ‡9CHESTER ‡9COVENTRY ‡9DERBY ‡9DBNECK ‡9DMHUNT ‡9EHAVEN ‡9EASTON ‡9ELNGTN ‡9WSHGTN ‡9HEBRON ‡9JCCL ‡9JTRUMBULL ‡9KLWRTH ‡9KLNGLY ‡9MILFORD ‡9RXBURY ‡9MONROE ‡9MORRIS ‡9NAUGTK ‡9NCANAAN ‡9NEWTWN ‡9NORFLK ‡9LITFLD ‡9OXFORD ‡9PUTNAM ‡9RDGFLD ‡9REDDNG ‡9ROCKVL ‡9ROWLIB ‡9SALEM ‡9SLSBRY ‡9SEYMOR ‡9SHLSYS ‡9SHLTON ‡9HUNTNG ‡9SLATER ‡9SRMAN ‡9SOMERS ‡9SBURY ‡9SFFRD ‡9SUFFLD ‡9TERYVL ‡9TLLAND ‡9TOMPSN ‡9UNION ‡9WARREN ‡9WDBURY ‡9WESTON ‡9WTRBRY ‡9BUHILL ‡9WLMNTC ‡9WOLCOT ‡9WINDFREE ‡xcons
85640. ‡uhttp://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=197&titleID=2205293 ‡yAvailable Online from Overdrive. Click here to download. ‡9ANSONA ‡9SPRAGUE ‡9BFALLS ‡9BETHEL ‡9BOLTON ‡9BRKFLD ‡9CHESTER ‡9COVENTRY ‡9DERBY ‡9DBNECK ‡9DMHUNT ‡9EHAVEN ‡9EASTON ‡9ELNGTN ‡9WSHGTN ‡9HEBRON ‡9JCCL ‡9JTRUMBULL ‡9KLWRTH ‡9KLNGLY ‡9MILFORD ‡9RXBURY ‡9MONROE ‡9MORRIS ‡9NAUGTK ‡9NCANAAN ‡9NEWTWN ‡9NORFLK ‡9LITFLD ‡9OXFORD ‡9PUTNAM ‡9RDGFLD ‡9REDDNG ‡9ROCKVL ‡9ROWLIB ‡9SALEM ‡9SLSBRY ‡9SEYMOR ‡9SHLSYS ‡9SHLTON ‡9HUNTNG ‡9SLATER ‡9SRMAN ‡9SOMERS ‡9SBURY ‡9SFFRD ‡9SUFFLD ‡9TERYVL ‡9TLLAND ‡9TOMPSN ‡9UNION ‡9WARREN ‡9WDBURY ‡9WESTON ‡9WTRBRY ‡9BUHILL ‡9WLMNTC ‡9WOLCOT ‡9WINDFREE ‡xcons
85640. ‡uhttp://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=197&titleID=2205293 ‡yAvailable Online from OverDrive for C.H. Booth Library patrons only. Click here to download ‡9NEWTWN ‡xnewtwn
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttp://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2205293-SaltToTheSea.mp3 ‡9NEWTWN ‡xnewtwn
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttp://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=fc9fb368-e3a8-4bbf-afc2-f0b4a9b56b4e&.epub-sample.overdrive.com ‡9NEWTWN ‡xnewtwn
8564 . ‡3Image ‡uhttp://images.contentreserve.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{FC9FB368-E3A8-4BBF-AFC2-F0B4A9B56B4E}Img100.jpg ‡9NEWTWN ‡xnewtwn
938 . ‡aEBSCOhost ‡bEBSC ‡n1006435
905 . ‡uesattler
901 . ‡aocn936695681 ‡bSystem Local ‡c4075490 ‡tbiblio ‡sOverdrive Advantage

Additional Resources